The Second Decade

That’s it. My teenage years are finally over. I am officially 20, and it feels absolutely no different than 19, lol.

(If we’re gonna be totally honest here, I actually still feel like I’m five. But it’s fine.)

I turned 20 on Tuesday, surrounded by my wonderful family and some of my closest friends, and I couldn’t have asked for a better day.

It was the first time I legitimately celebrated my birthday with a “party” and all that since I turned 12. (And way back when my 12th birthday occurred, it was also the first party I had had in awhile.) I guess I’ve just never been one for the hoopla and have always sort of enjoyed doing whatever and relaxing with my parents or inviting my best friend over for cake as a way to pass the time. Giant parties, while fun, never really were me.

But this year, I had a friend in town and was determined to give him the greatest Pittsburgh experience ever, so I swallowed my want for simplicity and dragged him — as well as a bunch of other people — to Kennywood, where I spent my day riding rollercoasters and eating french fries and just generally being happy.

It was one of the best birthdays ever, and I’m incredibly grateful for it. I am also very grateful to have finally finished the second decade of my life and now get the chance to start the third.

What’s up ahead? Being able to drink (which I won’t do cause I hate alcohol), graduating college, getting a real job, traveling the world, getting married, having kids, retiring…

Okay, so I went a little far, but you get the picture: I’m about to be a legit adult, not just a legal one. Scary, right?

But hey, it happens to us all one day…

Anyway, that’s it for now. I just felt the urge to give a little life update before I headed off to work this morning. And to anyone else who was born around this time, happy birthday to you, too. I hope yours is just as awesome as mine was (if not better than).

Talk to you soon!

Leave a comment below. I'd love to know what you think!

