A Word on Orlando

I’m no government policy expert. I knew no one in the massacre. I’m just a citizen of a country where yet another mass tragedy has happened, and I’m tired of it.

I’m tired of waking up and seeing that X number of people were gunned down in X town due to X reason.

I’m tired of spending my whole day hearing this friend yammer on about how horrible it was and that friend give me a lecture on how this country is falling apart and we need gun control right now.

I’m tired of turning on the news and scrolling through my social media only to see this outlet spin it one way and that person spin it another yet no one ever address the real problem going on.

Last but not least, I’m tired of the grueling day of forced sympathy followed by absolute silence and indifference. Oh, another shooting? Shame. Moving on.

Was it a hate crime? Was it ISIS? I don’t know, and frankly, I don’t care. Stupid details like that don’t matter to me.

What does matter is that fifty beautiful, healthy people who were, only yesterday, living out their lives are now gone. That’s it. Gone — cold, dead, soon-to-be-in-the-ground gone. Sorry if that harsh description doesn’t sit well with you, but that’s the truth of the matter. And it’s sickening. We should all be sickened by it.

But we’re not. We act like we are, but honestly, many of us just don’t really care. That’s why, even despite it, we keep on talking about our new MacBooks, the cute cat video we saw last week, and Kylie Jenner’s eyes and lips. That’s why, even despite it, I still did my post on the crappy weekend I had at work.

I just want it to stop. What’s happening is stupid. What is so wrong with us that we keep on letting disgusting tragedies like this happen? Why do we care for only 24 hours, then turn a blind eye and barely even remember they ever happened?

“Just another shooting.” That mentality needs to stop. That mentality is going to eat this country alive.

Like I said before, I’m no government policy expert, so I have no idea what the best solution is. I just know the problem needs to be fixed, and it’s time the rest of the nation recognized it, too.

4 thoughts on “A Word on Orlando

  1. Hi Leah, what you said here is honest, real and a poignant disappointment of every one in the world craving for some peace. Incidents like these happening everyday in the world have reduced the cost of life to merely a newspaper headline. We probably have become so used to this waste of life that nothing except the lives of victims change after every such incident :/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment below. I'd love to know what you think!

