Sunday Thoughts: The Story of Moses

I’m currently doing something daunting: trying to read the Bible all the way through, in order, as occurs. Now, I’m not very far, only in Exodus, but I still can say that I’m honestly thoroughly enjoying it.

The reason why I’m reading the entire Bible from front to back in order is because of the Old Testament. For my whole life, the focus was always on the New Testament, which was great and all, but I always felt like I was missing out on a huge portion of my religion, nonetheless. You know, the whole beginning of it.

And so I’m finally getting around to correcting that major lapse in info.

I see why a lot of Christians don’t pay much attention to the Old Testament, though; a lot of it is hard to wrap your mind around and thus pull relevant morals and lessons from, so it tends to get skipped for the more directly relatable New Testament. But I don’t know; even though it doesn’t really talk about Christ, I still have always thought it was relevant and thus should be studied just as much as the Bible’s other half. I mean, it’s still a part of the religion, and so it obviously still has a purpose, right? Right, it does.

Okay, so I’m currently in Exodus, which means that I am on the story of Moses, one of the bits of the OT that I am actually most familiar with. I mean, it’ a legend (not as in fake but as in really, really famous), so of course I’ve been told about it before.

Well, even though a legend, it’s still one that’s always kind of confused me. Sure, I understand the physical plot, including all that happens as well as when and why, but I never really got…it’s importance? I know that sounds awful, for Moses is hands down one of the most important people in the Bible due to the miracles he worked, but for some reason, his story just always seemed to lack some deeper meaning than that for me, and so I always just saw it as less important.

But, while continuing my reading of it last night, I finally found something to raise the story’s level in my eyes. It is Exodus 10:3, and it reads:

“Thus says the Lord, the God of the Hebrews, ‘How long will you refuse to humble yourself before me?'”

Yes, the story of Moses does have a relevant lesson.

This comes during struggle Moses and Aaron and the rest of the Hebrews are having with Pharaoh: Even though God is clearly messing with the Egyptians, Pharaoh still won’t let the Hebrews go.

Well, for my whole life, I’ve seen this part of the story in an odd way. I mean, sure, God was simply trying to teach the Egyptians that He is supreme, but it always just seemed a little bit much. I don’t know, that was just me. But after finding 10:3 last night, it all makes sense now; God’s message here is finally clear to me.

Everything in life, whether it be good or bad, is simply a part of God’s plan; he knows that it can happen and thus is always prepared for it to happen. However, as 10:3 shows, we humans don’t necessarily have to allow what’s in our way (again, whether good or bad) to happen; sure, God has a plan, but He also gave us free will, so if there is bad ahead, He’s probably not going to mind if we use said will to overcome it. He only gets mad when we overcome good with our power to choose, not evil.

So cue Pharaoh, the man who is trying to overcome good with bad by allowing God to harden his heart (and thus still refuse to let the Hebrews go) even after all of the disasters — even when he has the choice to not. And thinking about it last night, that’s a really powerful message.

Yes, we all suffer, and we can’t always understand why, but if we just keep God in mind during it despite that, just give Him a little bit of our time and attention no matter what is going on (a.k.a. just suck it up, humble our hearts, and let Him in), then maybe said suffering would ease up.

I don’t know. Take from this what you please, but I think the story of Moses and Pharaoh is all about teaching us how to stay calm and keep God in our hearts even in the face of adversity by showing us how much worse things can get if we do not. And that, my friends, to me, at least, is something incredible that I’m very sad to have overlooked for this long.

So to sum things up a bit, the story of Moses is now incredibly important to me, and I’m very glad to have found something that makes it so.

God bless, and have a wonderful day.

Leave a comment below. I'd love to know what you think!

