A White Girl and Her New Ability to See Race

I now know why I want to move to a foreign country so badly: I can no longer handle mine.

It seems like every single day now, I’m waking up to a new sort of hate crime by someone white against someone black, with the entire internet population freaking the fudge out over it, and I just don’t know what to think anymore.

Actually, no, I do know what to think. I know exactly what to think: I think all of this twisted media coverage is making me into a racist!

Yes, because of the way every single crime against a black person by a white person is now being portrayed (a.k.a. because they’re all being called hate crimes caused by racism), I can no longer walk out of my home with confidence. Because all whites are now apparently racist murderers, I, a white girl, no longer feel comfortable around blacks.

Why? Because I feel like I’m offending them all with my mere presence, with my mere whiteness, that’s why.

Yeah, for real: I am now embarrassed to be around black people because of what the media is saying about my race. Because of this, I can no longer make eye contact with blacks, whether we are simply passing by each other on the street or sitting together at a red light. I just can’t do it! I just don’t feel comfortable!

Even at work, I can no longer comfortably look at a black person, and it’s solely because I’m afraid that said individual hates me because he or she assumes I hate him or her; it’s solely because the media has seemingly convinced the entire world that American whites are horrible, racist spawns of Satan who should just crawl back into their dark, dank holes in the Underworld already.

Actually, let me rephrase that: It’s solely because the media has seemingly convinced the entire world that American whites who don’t believe that every “hate crime” being reported as a hate crime is actually a hate crime are horrible, racist spawns of Satan who should just crawl back into their dark, dank holes in the underworld already.

Yes, that sounds more like it.

And, yes, I just went there.

Look, if I have to log onto Twitter one more time only to see every single person I follow — of all races — saying how horrible white Americans are — more specifically, how horrible all the white Americans not agreeing with them (and the “fact” that every crime against blacks by whites in America is now a hate crime) are — I’m going to throw myself off a cliff. Seriously. I CAN’T TAKE IT ANYMORE.

NO, WORLD, JUST BECAUSE I AM A WHITE AMERICAN, IT DOES NOT MEAN I AM RACIST. THAT’S A LOGICAL FALLACY.

But, then again, I’m guilty, too, of said fallacy since I feel like I’m offending every black person with my whiteness simply because they’re black and I’m an evil white girl.

So, in the end, all of this “race awareness” is literally making me into a racist, not in the way that I hate other races but in the way that I fear other races hating me just because of how apparently awful my race is.

It’s weird to think about it, but I now, for the first time ever in my entire life, am seeing race, and I can wholeheartedly say that it’s all because of this racism prevention program our nation’s media is suddenly on.

It may be shocking, but before Zimmerman, if you lined up a young man of every single race possible in front of me and then told me to pick out the criminal, do you know who I would’ve chosen? NO ONE. BECAUSE THAT’S NOT ENOUGH INFORMATION TO GO OFF OF.

(Although, I must admit that the sexiest one would be automatically eliminated. Sorry, but a girl can only hold back so much.)

But NOW, if you would do the same exact thing, instead of instantly thinking, “YOU’RE ON CRACK. THERE’S NOT ENOUGH INFO. I CAN’T DO THIS,” I’d be thinking, “HOLY CRAP, I THINK I HAVE TO PICK THE WHITE GUY BECAUSE IF I PICK ANYONE ELSE, I WILL JUST BE CALLED A RACIST.”

Yeah, it’s gotten that bad.

And it may not be the stereotypical type, but that sure as heck seems like the mindset of a racist to me, folks!

Because, in my book, racism, as well as being the hatred of a race, is also the act of seeing race. So if you’re calling me something other than a human being (a.k.a. white), you’re racist. And since I’m now calling everyone else around me something other than a human being (a.k.a. their respective race), I’m racist, too.

And I hate it. I HATE IT. AND IT’S ALL SO DUMB.

Now, don’t get me wrong: This last “hate crime” was, in fact, a hate crime; I mean, the dude even confessed. And so I’m not trying to downplay the seriousness of hate crimes in general with this. But has every single hate crime reported from Zimmerman on really been thus? No, and believing they all have been is wrong. (And the only way you can legitimately counter me on this is if you have physically read through all of the evidence of every single case, bias-free. Bias-free.)

Hate me if you want for saying this, but I’m a member of this country’s media. I know how it works, and I can tell you right now that most of the hate crimes really were not, that most of them simply had facts withheld in the coverage for selling purposes (to make you believe that they were, enrage you, and thus get you to keep up with the case by spending all of your money buying the paper), and that you shouldn’t ever believe anything you ever see coming out of any media outlet ever because of that. EVER.

EVER!!!!!!!

You ever heard of sensationalism? Yeah, well guess what? That’s what the majority of this is; media are doing nothing more than playing up what’s selling (racism) in order to make money. They’re just businesses, after all! They gotta make money somehow!

What, you don’t believe me? Well, then why don’t you go look up real quick how the Spanish-American War started?

News flash: Little, white, enraging, journalistic lies can do anything.

I don’t even know what I’m trying to say here anymore. I’m just fed up with it all, and so I want to rant.

NO, DUDE ON TWITTER WITH THE ‘F— THE POLICE’ AVATAR, I AM NOT A RACIST JUST BECAUSE I AM WHITE, JUST LIKE YOU ARE NOT A CRIMINAL JUST BECAUSE YOU ARE BLACK.

ALSO, PEOPLE WITH THAT SAME ‘F— THE POLICE’ MENTALITY, JUST BECAUSE SOMEONE IS A WHITE POLICE OFFICER, IT DOESN’T MEAN THAT THAT PERSON IS A RACIST EITHER.

AND JUST BECAUSE SOMEONE HURTS SOMEONE OF ANOTHER RACE, IT DOESN’T MEAN THEY DID IT BECAUSE OF THE COLOR OF THAT OTHER PERSON’S SKIN.

YOU KNOW WHAT DETERMINES RACISM? WHETHER OR NOT YOU’RE A HORRIBLE HUMAN BEING WHO’S STILL STUCK AS AN ELDERLY, SOUTHERNER IN 1962. AND GIVEN THAT THE VAST MAJORITY OF PEOPLE LIVING IN 2015 AMERICAN SOCIETY ARE NOT HORRIBLE PEOPLE WHO ARE STILL STUCK AS ELDERLY SOUTHERNERS IN 1962, THE VAST MAJORITY OF US ARE ALSO NOT RACIST.

AND JUST SO YOU KNOW, ANY PERSON OF ANY RACE CAN BE RACIST, NOT JUST WHITES.

OH, AND ONE LAST THING SO I’M NOT WRONGLY MISTAKEN BY ANY TOM PEEPING THROUGH MY WINDOW RIGHT NOW: NO, I DID NOT JUST SQUASH THAT FLEE ON MY COMPUTER SCREEN BECAUSE IT WAS BLACK; I SQUASHED IT BECAUSE IT WAS A FLEE.

GOSH DARN IT.

Sorry; I didn’t mean to yell, but that felt really good.

So I guess the moral of the story is this: If you really want “America’s race problem” to go away, stop believing that everyone around you is a racist. Stop believing every half-lie the media feeds you. Stop getting on your high-horse behind your computer screen and telling the police to f-off. That solves nothing. That just offends people like me who don’t want to see the world burn because of idiocy, naïvety, and lies.

Plain and simple, if you want race problems to end, stop seeing people for their race. It’s not that hard; I was doing it for my whole life until the Zimmerman trial got exploited.

I think our real problem is that we’re confusing general racism with general violence. What we need to do is stop blaming race for our violence problem and start tackling the general violence itself. Sure, a few cases here and there will involve racism, for there will always be a few crazed racists out there, but blaming it all solely on racism is wrong and won’t solve anything; the world is simply too diverse now to not end up hurting someone of another race. But it’s not because the perpetrator is racist, you know. It’s just because it’s bound to happen. And saying it’s all racism only makes things worse by sparking up more violence.

And even if you do think it’s all because of rampant racism still existing in the majority of the United States, don’t you think that if we tackled the general violence that rules this country, the race issue would disappear along with it?

In other words, just clear the crap out of your head and your heart and JUST START LOVING. LOVE EACH OTHER FOR GOODNESS SAKES!! GOD MADE US ALL, MOTHER TRUCKERS. IT’S JUST SKIN. IT’S JUST FLESH THAT COVERS OUR MEAT AND BONE SO WE CAN FUNCTION. WHO GIVES A CRAP WHAT IT LOOKS LIKE? YOU’RE A PERSON, I’M A PERSON: WE’RE PRACTICALLY SIBLINGS. WHY CAN’T WE JUST ALL BE BROS AND LOVE EACH OTHER ALREADY??

I don’t know. It may just be me, but I don’t think there’s anyone who can argue with that.

Leave a comment below. I'd love to know what you think!

