Stories from College: WORKING HARD DOESN’T EVEN FREAKING MATTER

It’s officially been proven. News flash: WORKING HARD IN SCHOOL DOESN’T EVEN FREAKING MATTER!

Can you tell that I’m a bit ticked off? Well, if you can’t, news flash: I AM.

(This is going to be a very strongly worded story. Just thought I’d warn you ahead of time.)

So, due to a due time for an assignment that I somehow wasn’t informed of (which is a very long story for another day), I ended up turning in an incredibly important paper for my English class late. And even though it was an honest mistake that led to the paper being only 45 minutes late, my professor still didn’t have mercy on me and still gave me a zero for the assignment. Whatever, though. It’s my bad, and so I get it. It’s her policy, and she doesn’t have to make any exceptions if she doesn’t want to.

She was nice enough, though, to offer bonus that could raise anyone’s grade by up to 5 percentage points if they made it good, and she was also nice enough to give me half of the original points back on that late paper if I chose to redo it. My first thought there was that it’s still an F, but the longer I had to think on it, I realized that, hey, it’s better than no points at all! And so I thanked her for the opportunity and accepted the offer. At that point, I’d take anything I could get so as to not flat-out flunk the class.

So I did those two extra assignments as well as just generally worked my butt off for everything else in her class the rest of the semester, putting approximately 175% of my time, energy, and effort into everything she would eventually see, from papers to even class discussions. That may seem silly, for my grade was doomed anyway, which I knew, but I still wanted to try my hardest; I was hoping that, from it, my grade (and 4.0 GPA) might not get wrecked as badly as I was thinking…because maybe she would see how much I truly work and thus pity me 😀

Well, it turns out that I was right. I don’t know if there was ever any pity, but by some miracle of God, my endless hard work ended up getting me an A in that class.

WHAT??? HOW?????

I know, that’s what I’m saying!

Well, in the end, I was happier than I’ve ever been in my entire life (not really) and very literally found myself jumping for joy because, even in all of my doubts, everything still turned out to be okay. I ended up getting an A, and my 4.0 GPA was saved!

UNTIL MY JERK PHILOSOPHY PROFESSOR SUBMITTED FINAL GRADES, THAT IS.

A 93.4%.

HE GAVE ME A 93.4%.

THAT’S AN A-

WHICH MEANS THAT I NOW HAVE A 3.97 GPA

ALL BECAUSE OF HIS JENK FINAL EXAM THAT EXISTED SOLELY OF SYNTHESIZING PHILOSOPHICAL WORKS IN WAYS WE HAD NEVER EVEN DISCUSSED IN CLASS

Sayonara, 4.0!

AND IF YOU WERE HERE RIGHT NOW, PROF. H., IT WOULD BE SAYONARA TO YOU, TOO.

Needless to say, philosophy was another class this semester in which I had worked my butt off the entire time in order to keep an A (because said Prof. H. was literally THE WORST). THIS TIME, HOWEVER, IT CLEARLY HAD THE OPPOSITE AFFECT.

GOSH, I AM JUST SO ANGERED BY THIS! I DO NOT DESERVE AN A-! FOR ALL OF MY WORK, AN A- IS JUST NOT FAIR!!!

Whoooo… Deep breaths, Leah… Deep breaths…

So in the end, kids, it apparently doesn’t matter how much effort you put into something, especially with school! Whatever grade you’re going to get, you’re going to get! Whatever your professor is feeling that day is what will end up happening! So don’t get yourself all worked up over your grades or your GPA because in the end, it doesn’t even really matter; C’s get degrees, and employers never look at GPAs, anyway! It’s all about who you know, not what you know, sadly, and so trying your hardest will get you just as far as not ever even trying at all! So why care! I know I don’t! Whatever happens, happens! Destiny! I can’t really ever affect anything, so why try to at all? Why be mad about this?! It doesn’t even freaking matter! None of it will ever even freaking matter!

(Sarcasm alert: I DO actually care. This is all just because I’m still really very freaking miffed.)

Leave a comment below. I'd love to know what you think!

