More Than Just Tasty on Chips

Two nights ago, I took a salsa class.

I know, I’m even shocked.

It was in order to fill part of a cultural requirement for my Spanish class this semester, and, let me tell you, if it wasn’t, I wouldn’t have gone.

Now, I already know that I’m no expert dancer, but, you know, I can get down with my bad self every now and then if I want. I just, uh, happen to look like a chicken without a head when I do.

Time to backtrack for a moment, though, and put my lack of rhythm aside; I feel bad that I wouldn’t have gone if it weren’t kind of required. I mean, I had a genuinely good time there. Sure, I was basically the worst one in the room, but it was still both hilariously and amazingly fun. Honestly, it was a once in a lifetime experience that I am beyond grateful for, and because I’m an introverted home body, if it wasn’t required, I would never have experienced it. Isn’t that crazy?! If it wasn’t required, I wouldn’t have found out what it’s like to just lose myself in the moment and stop caring in order to do something incredibly freeing. If it wasn’t required, I wouldn’t be able to (kind of) participate in a huge part of one of the largest cultures in the world. If it wasn’t required, I would never know what it’s like to be able to dance, which is a quality I admire a lot in a person!

Okay, so I still don’t know what it’s like to be able to dance, but that’s beside the point. What I’m trying to get at is that I learned more the other night than just how to do a true Latin American salsa. I really learned how to come out of my shell, let go, and have fun. I also learned that I can’t do everything, and that that’s okay. And, finally, I learned that I should get out more. Just thinking of everything I’ve missed in life because I’ve been too shy to get up and salsa (so to speak) is making me go crazy. I can’t stop kicking myself over it! If I just let go and did whatever I wanted, I could be a billionaire!

Or not, but you get my point. I’m far behind in life because I’ve held back. But I’m not going to do that anymore. No, sir! From now on, I’m grabbing life by the Che Che Cole and salsa-ing my way through the world! So watch out!

Cause I’m probably going to step on your toes along the way… Sorry in advance.

Leave a comment below. I'd love to know what you think!

