Faith in Humanity Restored, Confidence in Myself Diminished (then restored, as well)

Today, I’ve had my faith in humanity fully restored.

The first thing that did it was a school bus I passed by on the state route I drove home on from class today. It had “Jesus rocks” written in a child’s crooked handwriting in the dirt of the rear emergency door.

Wait, you mean no profanities, vulgarities, explicit drawings, or general insults? Rather, it said Jesus? And, nonetheless, the fact that he rocks?

Where am I, and what happened to the Jesus-free schools that my America so wholeheartedly promotes?

Mind = Blown

You go, sassy child who said no to censorship and stuck it to the man!

The second thing that caused my revelation was this article from Grist, an environmental and political online news magazine (my description, not theirs). Its headline reads, “This 14-year-old will fix the planet before she graduates.”

What???

Yup!

You have to read it. (I can’t emphasize “have” there enough.) The story about little Maya Penn is incredible and will both inspire you nearly to tears and make you feel like an insignificant imp who has done nothing with your life.

But don’t worry. If you feel bad about yourself once you finish, just read over Maya’s words of wisdom once again, and you’ll feel infinitely better about your inaction…until, of course, you remember that she’s a 14-year-old Super Woman. Then the cycle will simply repeat.

But I’m okay with that. To me, such a cycle seems almost necessary. I mean, maybe it–a kid outdoing us all–is simply the motivation that us adults (lol I’m fooling no one) legal adults need in order to finally wake up and utilize our best asset: our legality.

Cause let’s face it; that’s really all that sets us apart from kids, anyway.

Well, most of us.

Anyhow, we all can agree that this world is in desperate need of reform, especially because of its ever-increasing smallness (you know, like, “Iiiiiiit’s a smaaaaaaall wooorld, aaaaaaafter aaaaaaaaallllll!”). Everyone is closer to each other than we’ve ever been throughout all of human history. Crazy, right? It’s yet another first for the books, which means that, like with all other firsts, major changes need to come–and they need to come everywhere.

No matter what you feel is most important on the long list of issues that exists, what counts is that you feel something needs to be changed. Which brings me to what I’m here to ask: If there’s something you want to change, why aren’t you doing so? Why am I not doing so? What are we so afraid of? I mean, we all have everything we need in order to push forward and bring change. No matter who you are or where you live, you have some sort of cause, some sort of voice, some way to express it, and some kind of willing and open audience waiting to hear it. Because of how globally connected we are, everyone everywhere can have a say in what’s happening if they really want one. So why aren’t we taking advantage of it? What’s holding us back?

Is it the fear of persecution? Because that same legality that gives us a right to speak up also gives us a right to be punished for speaking up. I know that’s what stops me sometimes from following my passions. Heck, if I ever tried to start my own charity or publish my own book or bring Jesus back into public schools myself, I would have to jump through seventeen billion hoops just to get through the first step out of the twelve that make up only the legal process, which is simply the very first step in the whole series of how you even begin to make a change officially (as in without ending up in jail) in my home country. That’s a lot of work (which can all be credited to the fact that I’m legally an adult), and it, at times, makes me want to give up.

But just think if I ever even dared try to change something big–and tried to do it on a big scale, too; if I went after what I think is wrong with society as a whole, well then, let’s just say that there’d be a huge bunch of angry people at my doorstep (including several federal agents) trying to throw me in jail or down a well or into the electric chair.

And I supposedly live in the land of the free.

So I can only begin to imagine what it’s like for people in other places where no rights exist at all, where so much as looking at the wrong person at the wrong time can get you chopped into bits–or worse–that evening. How do those people speak up? How do those people bring about change?

Well, I unfortunately can’t answer that for you–for many reasons. But I can say this: If something fires you up so much that you at times don’t think you can hold your opinions back on the matter, then chances are others are feeling the same, too, which means you should be doing something about it. It only takes one to spark a revolution. Just like if when you have a question you aren’t alone, if you want change, you’re not alone, either. So, if you’re not alone, then why are you waiting? What’s holding you back? Why not draw out your comrades by being the catalyst to your movement? There’s strength in numbers, and when you make your cause known, the numbers will come. So why not speak out for the changes you want to see? I mean, if little kids can do it, if 14-year-old Maya Penn and an elementary student on his way home from school can make waves, caring more about the probable changes than the possible punishments, then why can’t you? What’s holding us back?

Leave a comment below. I'd love to know what you think!

